As an Amazon Associate, top7tools.au earns from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amazon.com.au at the time of purchase will apply.
Rankings re-checked weekly · Last re-checked 16 October 2026
·Prices updated daily·AI-assisted, run by Jaco Olwagen
The deepest cut on the page, 75 mm at 90 and 55 mm at 45 on a 210 mm blade, with a 1400 mm rail, kickback stop and Systainer in the kit. The only pick that ships from within Australia. A$2,902.50 from a third-party seller, so confirm AU spec.
Why it's number one: Top marks on cut depth (75 mm), power (1,600 W) and track safety (1,400 mm rail, spacer wedge and KickbackStop in the box); no critic review found; Amazon rating 4.4 from 10 owners.
The TS 75 is the saw for solid timber benchtops, thick doors and anything a 165 mm saw runs out of depth on. The 210 mm blade gives 75 mm at 90 degrees and 55 mm at 45 on the rail, with tilt from 0 to 47 degrees, and the 1600 W motor runs 1,350 to 4,400 rpm with MMC electronics. Festool's spring-loaded spacer wedge does the riving knife job on plunge cuts, the FS-RSP KickbackStop locks the saw to the rail, and the splinterguard gives a clean edge on both sides of the kerf. The kit is what justifies the listing: a 1400 mm FS 1400/2 guide rail, the 36-tooth Wood Universal blade, a 4 m plug-it cable and a Systainer, so it cuts a sheet lengthways the day it arrives, though a second rail and a connector is the sensible add-on for 2400 mm rips. It is the only pick here that ships from within Australia, sold by Deal First, a third-party Australian seller, with 3 to 4 day dispatch. At A$2,902.50 it costs almost four times the DeWalt, and 4.4 stars from 10 ratings is a thin sample. Confirm with the seller that it is the AU-spec unit with an Australian plug-it cable and a Festool Australia warranty path, since a Festool dealer is the obvious alternative.
Cut
10.0
Power
10.0
Track
10.0
Dust
8.5
Owners
8.4
Owners is the 4.4★ Amazon AU rating from 10 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Cut 10.0 (rubric 10): 75 mm at 90 degrees on the rail clears the 70 mm threshold, with plunge action; the 36-tooth Wood Universal blade earns no bonus.
Power 10.0 (rubric 10): 1,600 W corded with 1,350 to 4,400 rpm variable speed held by MMC electronics.
Track 10.0 (rubric 10): FS 1400/2 rail (1,400 mm) in the box, spring-loaded spacer wedge and FS-RSP KickbackStop.
Dust 8.5 (rubric 8): Enclosed guard with dual 27/36 mm extraction, no percentage published; Systainer adds half a point, 6.5 kg bare takes it back.
Pros
+ 75 mm at 90 degrees and 55 mm at 45 on the rail, enough for a 42 mm mitred waterfall benchtop or a solid-core door
+ FS 1400/2 rail, 36-tooth blade, KickbackStop, splinterguard and Systainer all in the box, so it is complete on day one
+ 1600 W with 1,350 to 4,400 rpm variable speed, spring-loaded spacer wedge and dual 27/36 mm extraction
+ The only pick that ships from within Australia, sold by a third-party Australian seller
Cons
− A$2,902.50 is roughly four times the DeWalt, and only 10 ratings sit behind the 4.4 stars
− 6.5 kg bare is the heaviest saw here, and it is overkill for a job that is all 16 and 18 mm sheet
− Sold by a third-party seller with 3 to 4 day dispatch rather than held stock, so confirm AU spec, plug and warranty before you pay
Corded 1600W210mm Blade75mm DepthRail IncludedSystainerShips from AU
DeWalt DWS520KT 1300W 165mm Plunge Saw with TSTAK Case (Corded)
Corded 1300W165mm BladeRiving Knife
Value
Rank #2
DeWalt DWS520KT 1300W 165mm Plunge Saw with TSTAK Case (Corded)
Our Verdict
The proper trade plunge saw at a non-Festool price: 1300 W, variable speed, riving knife, rail-locking anti-kickback and a 48-tooth blade for clean melamine. It is a UK import with a UK plug and no rail in the box, so budget for both.
This is the saw for a cabinet maker or serious renovator who wants a real plunge saw with the safety features that separate it from a circular saw on a rail, without paying Festool money. The DWS520 has a full riving knife that follows the blade, plus DeWalt's anti-kickback knob that locks a metal tab into the rail so the saw cannot climb back out of a plunge cut. The 1300 W motor runs 1,750 to 4,200 rpm with full-wave electronics holding speed under load, and the 165 mm 48-tooth blade in the box is fine enough for melamine straight away. Depth is 59 mm bare and 55 mm on the rail at 90 degrees, 40 mm on the rail at 45, with bevel to 47 degrees, and DeWalt claims about 90 percent dust extraction through the enclosed guard with the Airlock adaptor fitted. Two things cost extra. There is no rail in the TSTAK box, and DeWalt rails use their own profile, so you need a DWS5022 or similar from a local dealer. And this is the GB version shipped from Amazon UK with a UK three-pin plug, which needs a rated adaptor or an electrician's plug swap, and carries no DeWalt Australia warranty. At A$759.21 and 4.5 stars from 31 ratings, it is the best balance of capability and price on this page.
Cut
9.6
Power
9.6
Track
7.0
Dust
9.6
Owners
8.4
Owners is the 4.5★ Amazon AU rating from 31 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Cut 9.6 (rubric 9.5): 55 mm at 90 degrees on the rail is the 55 to 69 mm band; true plunge action and the 48-tooth blade add half a point each.
Power 9.6 (rubric 9.5): 1,300 W corded is the 1,300 to 1,599 W band; variable speed with full-wave constant-speed electronics adds the half point.
Track 7.0 (rubric 6): No rail in the box scores 4; the riving knife and the rail-locking anti-kickback knob add one point each.
Dust 9.6 (rubric 9.5): DeWalt claims about 90 per cent extraction through the enclosed guard with the Airlock adaptor; TSTAK case adds half a point; 5.1 kg.
Pros
+ True plunge saw with a riving knife and a rail-locking anti-kickback function, which none of the sub-A$350 picks offer
+ 1300 W with variable speed from 1,750 to 4,200 rpm and full-wave electronics, so it holds speed in 33 mm benchtop laminate
+ 48-tooth precision blade included, with 55 mm depth at 90 degrees on the rail and bevel to 47 degrees
+ Enclosed guard with Airlock adaptor gives about 90 percent extraction, and it ships in a TSTAK case
Cons
− No guide rail in the box, and DeWalt's rail profile is its own, so add a DWS5022 rail from a local dealer before it cuts anything straight
− Global Store import from Amazon UK with a UK plug: needs a rated adaptor or an electrician's plug swap, and no DeWalt Australia warranty
− 5.1 kg is not light, and at A$759.21 it costs more than double the Einhell cordless for a corded tool
Corded 1300W165mm BladeRiving KnifeAnti-KickbackRail Not IncludedGlobal Store Import
A genuine professional plunge track saw on the M18 platform Australian trades already own, with a riving knife, variable speed and a claimed 90 per cent dust capture. It lands last only because A$712 buys you the bare saw alone, with no rail, no battery and no Australian warranty.
This is the most capable cordless saw on this page and the hardest one to actually recommend to an Australian buyer, which is why it sits at the bottom rather than the top. The POWERSTATE brushless motor runs to 6,300 rpm through a 50-tooth blade, with a variable speed dial so you can wind it back for melamine and laminate, and Milwaukee publishes a 2-1/8 inch (54 mm) cut at 90 degrees with bevel stops at 22.5, 45 and 48 degrees. It is a true plunge saw in the sense this category cares about: the blade retracts fully into the housing, a riving knife follows the kerf to stop the cut pinching, and you can drop into the middle of a sheet for a sink cut-out. An adjustable cam system lets you take the slop out of the saw-to-rail fit, which is the difference between a straight cut and a wandering one, and Milwaukee claims over 90 per cent dust collection through a port that takes a 1-7/8 inch hose. At 5.3 kg bare it is the heaviest cordless saw here. Amazon's listing does not publish the 45-degree depth, so treat anything you read for that figure as unverified. Now the caveats, and they are the whole story at this price. It ships from Amazon US as a bare tool: no rail, no battery, no charger, no case. A rail long enough for a 2400 mm sheet is a genuine extra cost, and Milwaukee's rails are their own profile rather than a Festool-compatible one. Being a cordless skin there is no plug or voltage problem, but Milwaukee Australia's warranty explicitly excludes parallel imports, so a failure is your problem and not a local service agent's. If you are already deep in M18 and want a track saw that behaves like a professional one, this is the tool. If you are buying a track saw to break down a few sheets, the Bosch above it costs A$79 more and arrives with Australian stock, an Australian warranty and an L-BOXX.
Cut
9.3
Power
9.3
Track
6.3
Dust
9.3
Owners
8.7
Owners is the 4.7★ Amazon AU rating from 45 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Cut 9.3 (rubric 9): 54 mm at 90 degrees is the 50 to 54 mm band; plunge action and the 50-tooth blade add half a point each.
Power 9.3 (rubric 9): M18 FUEL brushless to 6,300 rpm clears the 6,000 rpm threshold; variable speed dial, constant-speed electronics not stated.
Track 6.3 (rubric 5): No rail in the box scores 4; the riving knife adds one point; the cam adjuster removes rail play but is not a kickback lock.
Dust 9.3 (rubric 9): Milwaukee claims over 90 per cent capture through the enclosed guard on a 1-7/8 inch port; 5.3 kg bare, no case.
Pros
+ A true plunge saw with a riving knife, a 54 mm cut at 90 degrees and bevel stops at 22.5, 45 and 48 degrees, so it handles sink cut-outs and mitred carcass work a track-riding circular saw cannot
+ Runs on M18, far and away the most widely owned professional battery platform in Australia, so most tradies buying this already have packs for it
+ Variable speed dial, quick-lock blade change, an adjustable cam to dial out saw-to-rail play, and a claimed 90 per cent dust capture through a 1-7/8 inch port
Cons
− A$712 buys the bare saw only: no rail, no battery, no charger and no case, and a rail long enough for a full sheet is a real extra cost on top
− A Global Store import from Amazon US, and Milwaukee Australia's warranty explicitly excludes parallel imports, so there is no local service cover
− The heaviest cordless saw here at 5.3 kg bare, it uses Milwaukee's own rail profile rather than a Festool-compatible one, and Amazon does not publish a 45-degree cut depth
BITURBO brushless plunge saw with corded-class power, 52mm cut depth, app-set speed and AMPShare batteries - and unlike most cordless track saws here, it is an Australian-stocked tool with local warranty.
This is the cordless plunge saw to buy if you want track-saw accuracy without a lead and without an import gamble. Bosch rates the BITURBO motor as equivalent to a 1620W corded plunge saw when it is fed by a ProCORE18V pack, and on 33mm benchtop or wet framing that claim holds up better than the spec sheet suggests. It takes a 52mm bite at 90 degrees on a 140mm blade, and the housing is narrow enough to cut within 10mm of a wall on a single battery. Speed is set per material - through the app or on the tool - and you get soft start, spindle lock, restart protection and overload cut-out, which is the difference between a stalled saw and a scorched cut in laminate. The AMPShare alliance matters if you are not already a Bosch house: the same packs run Fein, Flex and Rothenberger tools. It arrives as a skin in an L-BOXX 238 with a blade, connectivity module, dust bag and inlay, so budget for a battery, charger and an FSN rail on top. The upside over the cordless competition on this list is the boring one that matters most: it is sold into the Australian market with Bosch Australia's warranty behind it, not parallel-imported.
Cut
8.9
Power
9.6
Track
5.5
Dust
8.1
Owners
9.2
Owners is the 4.8★ Amazon AU rating from 610 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Cut 8.9 (rubric 8.5): 52 mm at 90 degrees is the 50 to 54 mm band; plunge action adds half a point; blade tooth count not stated.
Power 9.6 (rubric 9.5): BITURBO brushless that Bosch rates equal to a 1,620 W corded saw on ProCORE; per-material speed setting with overload cut-out adds the half point.
Track 5.5 (rubric 4): No rail in the box; neither a riving knife nor a rail lock is stated on the card.
Dust 8.1 (rubric 7.5): Dust port and bag in the box, port size and extraction rate not stated; the L-BOXX 238 adds half a point; bare weight not stated.
Pros
+ BITURBO brushless power Bosch equates to a 1620W corded plunge saw
+ Australian-stocked with local Bosch Professional warranty, unlike the imported cordless rivals
+ 52mm depth at 90 degrees and cuts to within 10mm of a wall on one battery
+ App-adjustable speed plus soft start, spindle lock, restart and overload protection
+ AMPShare packs also run Fein, Flex and Rothenberger tools
Cons
− Skin only - no battery or charger, and ProCORE18V packs are not cheap
− No guide rail in the box; a Bosch FSN rail is an extra purchase
− 140mm blade is a less common size than the 160-165mm the rivals use
BITURBO Brushless52mm Cut DepthAU Stock + WarrantyAMPShare 18VL-BOXX IncludedSkin Only
Einhell Professional TP-PS 18/165 Li BL 18V Brushless Plunge Saw (Skin)
18V Power X-ChangeBrushless165mm Blade
Value
Rank #5
Einhell Professional TP-PS 18/165 Li BL 18V Brushless Plunge Saw (Skin)
Our Verdict
The best-reviewed saw here at 4.7 stars: a brushless 18V Power X-Change plunge saw with 56 mm depth, a 56-tooth blade, soft start and brake, at A$301.23 as a skin. UK import, no rail, and the rail is Einhell's own profile.
If you already run Einhell Power X-Change batteries, or you want a cordless plunge saw for the price of a corded one, this is the pick. It is a genuine plunge saw, not a circular saw on a track: the blade retracts into the housing and drops into the work, with a marked plunge zone for cut-outs. The brushless motor spins a 165 mm, 56-tooth carbide blade at up to 5,000 rpm, the tool-free depth and tilt stops give 56 mm at 90 degrees and 42 mm at 45 without the rail, and Einhell adds soft start, a motor brake and restart protection. The swivelling 36 mm dust port takes a standard extractor hose. At 4.23 kg bare it is lighter than the corded DeWalt. What you are not getting: a battery, a charger, a rail or a riving knife. The listing says solo and means it, and Einhell's guide rail is its own profile, so a Festool or Makita rail will not fit. Confirm you can buy Power X-Change packs and rails locally before committing to the platform. The 10-year brushless motor guarantee Einhell advertises is a UK offer and this is a Global Store import from Amazon UK, so treat Amazon's returns window as the warranty.
Cut
9.6
Power
8.1
Track
5.5
Dust
8.9
Owners
8.8
Owners is the 4.7★ Amazon AU rating from 193 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Cut 9.6 (rubric 9.5): 56 mm at 90 degrees (quoted without the rail) is the 55 to 69 mm band; plunge action and the 56-tooth blade add half a point each.
Power 8.1 (rubric 7.5): 18V brushless rated to 5,000 rpm, under the 6,000 rpm flagship threshold; soft start and brake, but no variable speed stated.
Track 5.5 (rubric 4): No rail, no riving knife and no rail lock; Einhell's own rail profile.
Dust 8.9 (rubric 8.5): Enclosed plunge guard with a swivelling 36 mm port for a standard hose; 4.23 kg bare adds half a point; no case.
Pros
+ True plunge saw with a brushless motor, 56 mm depth at 90 degrees and a 56-tooth blade that leaves a clean edge on melamine
+ 4.7 stars from 180 ratings is the strongest review pattern in this category
+ Soft start, motor brake and restart protection, plus a swivelling 36 mm dust port for a standard extractor hose
+ 4.23 kg bare and no plug issue at all, since 18V Power X-Change packs are the same worldwide
Cons
− Skin only with no battery, charger or rail, and Einhell's rail profile is its own, so nothing you already own from Festool or Makita fits
− No riving knife, so keep the anti-kickback habits sharp on long rips in tension-prone timber
− Global Store import from Amazon UK: the 10-year motor guarantee is a UK offer, and Australian support is Amazon returns only
18V Power X-ChangeBrushless165mm Blade56mm DepthSkin OnlyGlobal Store Import
The cheapest way to a real plunge saw at A$213.83: 1200 W, a 48-tooth blade, 56 mm depth, tool-free depth and tilt and a 36 mm dust port. UK import with a UK plug, no rail in the box, and 1,482 ratings say it does the job.
For a renovator who wants a plunge saw for one kitchen and a set of wardrobes, and does not want to join a battery platform, this is the sensible entry point. It is a true plunge saw, not a circular saw on a rail, with a 1200 W motor at 5,200 rpm, a 165 mm 48-tooth carbide blade that suits melamine and ply, and tool-free adjustment of both cutting depth and tilt. Depth is 56 mm at 90 degrees and 42 mm at 45, quoted without the rail, so expect a few millimetres less on it. The 36 mm dust connection takes a standard extractor hose, the 4 m cable gives useful reach, and a rip fence and vacuum adaptor are in the box. What is not in the box is the rail: Einhell sells its guide rail system separately, it is Einhell's own profile, and without it the saw is just a heavy 4.75 kg circular saw. There is no riving knife listed, no soft start and no variable speed. It ships from Amazon UK with a UK three-pin plug, which runs fine on Australian 230-240 V through a rated adaptor or after an electrician swaps the plug, but there is no Einhell Australia warranty, only Amazon's returns. The 4.5 stars from 1,482 ratings is the deepest review pool in this category by a wide margin.
Cut
9.6
Power
8.1
Track
5.5
Dust
8.5
Owners
8.1
Owners is the 4.5★ Amazon AU rating from 1,516 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Cut 9.6 (rubric 9.5): 56 mm at 90 degrees (without the rail) is the 55 to 69 mm band; plunge action and the 48-tooth blade add half a point each.
Power 8.1 (rubric 7.5): 1,200 W corded is the 1,000 to 1,299 W band; single speed with no soft start loses half a point.
Track 5.5 (rubric 4): No rail, no riving knife listed and no rail lock; Einhell's own rail profile.
Dust 8.5 (rubric 8): Enclosed plunge guard with a 36 mm port for a standard hose; 4.75 kg, no case.
Pros
+ A genuine plunge saw with a 48-tooth blade and 56 mm depth for A$213.83, the lowest price on this page
+ Tool-free depth and tilt adjustment, a 36 mm dust port, a rip fence and a 4 m cable in the box
+ 4.5 stars from 1,482 ratings is by far the largest review sample in this ranking
Cons
− Global Store import from Amazon UK with a UK plug, so budget for a rated adaptor or an electrician's plug swap, and there is no Australian warranty
− No rail included and Einhell's rail is its own profile, so add the guide rail system before it earns the name
− 4.75 kg, no riving knife listed, no soft start and single-speed, so it is the basic tool in this line-up
Corded 1200W165mm Blade48T Blade56mm DepthRail Not IncludedGlobal Store Import
A 1600 W circular saw with a track in the box for A$231.75, and a TCT blade that cuts steel, aluminium and nail-embedded timber cold. Not a plunge saw and no riving knife, but the cheapest complete saw-and-rail package here. UK import.
This is the tradie's reno-site pick rather than the cabinet maker's. The R185CCSX is a conventional 1600 W circular saw with a cast aluminium base machined to run on Evolution's track, and the box includes three 340 mm track sections and connector bars making up 1020 mm, enough to cross-cut a sheet or trim a door. The 185 mm 16-tooth TCT multi-material blade is the point of difference: it cold-cuts mild steel without burrs, and goes through aluminium, plastic and timber with nails in it, which no fine-tooth plunge saw blade will tolerate. Depth is 64 mm at 90 degrees bare, with 0 to 45 degree bevel, an electric brake and 5.1 kg on the scales. The trade-offs: it does not plunge, so no mid-panel cut-outs, and Evolution states plainly that no riving knife is fitted. The 16-tooth blade is not a melamine blade, so add a fine-tooth wood blade for cabinet work. Evolution's track is its own profile, and the 3-year warranty is a UK registration offer. It ships from Amazon UK as a Global Store import; the Amazon bullets say EU plug, so expect a UK or EU plug on the 3 m cable and budget for an adaptor or an electrician's plug swap. Nearly 1,000 ratings at 4.6 stars is a reassuring sample.
Cut
7.8
Power
9.6
Track
7.8
Dust
7.0
Owners
8.5
Owners is the 4.6★ Amazon AU rating from 1,006 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Cut 7.8 (rubric 7): 64 mm at 90 degrees bare scores 8.5, less 1.5 as a fixed-base circular saw on a track; 16-tooth multi-material blade, no splinterguard.
Power 9.6 (rubric 9.5): 1,600 W corded scores 10; single speed with no soft start stated loses half a point.
Track 7.8 (rubric 7): 1,020 mm three-piece track in the box; Evolution states no riving knife, and there is no rail lock.
Dust 7.0 (rubric 6): Dust port adaptor only on an open circular-saw guard; 5.1 kg, no case.
Pros
+ 1020 mm three-piece track, dust port adapter and TCT blade all in the box for A$231.75, the cheapest complete package here
+ Multi-material blade cold-cuts mild steel, aluminium, plastic and nail-embedded timber, which no plunge saw blade will do
+ 1600 W, 64 mm depth at 90 degrees, electric brake and a cast aluminium base, backed by 4.6 stars from 997 ratings
Cons
− A circular saw on a track, not a plunge saw: no mid-panel cut-outs and Evolution states no riving knife is fitted
− Global Store import from Amazon UK with a UK or EU plug (the listing bullets say EU), so add an adaptor or electrician's plug swap, and the 3-year warranty is UK-only
− The 16-tooth multi-material blade is the wrong blade for melamine, so a fine-tooth wood blade is an extra
Corded 1600W185mm BladeMulti-MaterialTrack IncludedNot a Plunge SawGlobal Store Import
We score track and plunge saws across four category-specific dimensions. Cut Quality & Depth covers blade diameter and tooth count, maximum depth at 90 and 45 degrees on the rail, bevel range, and the finish the saw is built to leave on melamine. Power & Track System looks at motor wattage or battery platform, variable speed, whether a guide rail is included, which rail family the saw fits, and whether it is a true plunge saw with a riving knife and anti-kickback stop or a circular saw that rides a track. Dust & Build weighs extraction port size and claimed collection efficiency, base casting, weight and depth stop quality. Value compares that against the current Amazon AU price, counting the rail or battery you still have to buy and the missing Australian warranty on imports. Scores come from manufacturer specification sheets, retailer listings and the pattern in buyer reviews. We do not physically test tools, and where sources disagree on a figure we say so rather than pick one.
Scored on Cut quality and depth 40%, Power and speed control 25%, Track system and kickback safety 15%, Dust extraction and build 20%, plus owner ratings and critic reviews
Plunge Saw or Circular Saw on a Track: They Are Not the Same Thing
Two kinds of tool share this page. A true plunge saw, which is the DeWalt, the Milwaukee, the Festool and both Einhells, has a blade that sits fully retracted inside the housing until you push the saw down into the work. That gives you cut-outs in the middle of a panel, a riving knife or spacer wedge that follows the blade to stop the kerf pinching, and on the better saws an anti-kickback stop that locks the saw to the rail. The two Evolution saws are conventional circular saws with a base machined to ride Evolution's track. They cut straight and true on the rail and their multi-material blades do things a plunge saw cannot, but they do not plunge into the middle of a sheet and they have no riving knife. For breaking down full sheets either type works. For sink cut-outs and cabinet work, buy a plunge saw.
Check the Rail Is in the Box, and Which Family It Belongs To
Only two of the seven picks include a rail: the Festool TS 75 kit ships with a 1400 mm FS 1400/2, and the corded Evolution R185CCSX comes with a 1020 mm track in three 340 mm sections. Every other saw here is a bare saw, and a rail long enough for a 2400 mm sheet is a real extra cost, sometimes A$200 or more. Rail profiles are not universal. Festool and Makita share a profile, and the Milwaukee is built to ride those rails as well as its own. Bosch and Mafell share a different profile. DeWalt, Einhell and Evolution each use their own. Buy the rail your saw is designed for, and if you already own Festool or Makita rails, that is a strong reason to pick a saw that fits them. Two shorter rails with a joining bar are more practical than one long one for getting in and out of a ute.
Cut Depth on the Rail, Not the Headline Number
Manufacturers quote depth of cut without the rail because it is the bigger figure. The rail sits under the base and eats roughly 4 to 5 mm, so the DeWalt's 59 mm becomes 55 mm on its rail and the Evolution cordless drops from 64 mm to 59 mm. For 16 mm and 18 mm sheet goods none of that matters, and every saw here has depth to spare for a 33 mm laminate benchtop. It matters when you want to cut a 42 mm solid timber benchtop at 45 degrees for a mitred waterfall end, or trim a 45 mm solid-core door, which is where the 165 mm saws run out and the Festool TS 75, with 75 mm at 90 degrees and 55 mm at 45 degrees on a 210 mm blade, earns its price. If your work is 18 mm melamine, a 165 mm saw is the right tool and cheaper to feed with blades.
UK Plugs, US Bare Tools and What Warranty You Actually Get
Six of the seven picks are Global Store imports. The UK-sourced corded saws, DeWalt DWS520KT, Einhell TE-PS 165 and Evolution R185CCSX, arrive with a UK three-pin plug. They are 230 V tools and Australian mains is 230-240 V, so they run correctly, but you need a UK-to-AU adaptor rated for the saw's draw or a plug swap by a licensed electrician. The cordless skins from the UK need nothing, since 18 V packs are the same worldwide. The Milwaukee is a US bare tool and its M18 packs are also universal, but Milwaukee Australia's warranty excludes parallel imports and Amazon purchases, and Einhell's and Evolution's UK guarantees are not honoured by their Australian arms either. On every import you are relying on Amazon's returns window. Only the Festool, sold by an Australian third-party seller, has a local warranty path, and even there confirm the seller is supplying the AU-spec unit.
Blades for Melamine, and Dust Extraction You Will Actually Use
The blade in the box decides the finish more than the saw does. The DeWalt and the corded Einhell ship with 48-tooth blades, the cordless Einhell with 56 teeth, and the Festool with a 36-tooth universal blade, all fine for ply and MDF and good on melamine when sharp. For double-sided melamine and high-gloss board a dedicated 48 to 60 tooth laminate blade with a flat-top or triple-chip grind is worth buying on day one. The Evolution saws come with 16 or 20 tooth multi-material TCT blades built to cut steel, aluminium and nail-embedded timber, which is a genuine advantage on a reno site and a disadvantage on a cabinet job, where you will want a fine-tooth wood blade fitted. Dust matters because MDF dust is nasty: the Einhells and Festool use 36 mm ports, and the DeWalt and Milwaukee claim around 90 percent collection with an extractor attached.
A track saw is the tool that turns a 2400 x 1200 sheet of melamine, MDF or ply into cabinet parts with a factory-clean edge, on the floor of a garage, without a panel saw. The blade plunges into the work from above, the saw rides a guide rail, and the rail's rubber splinter strip holds the fibres down on the top face so the cut comes out chip-free. For cabinet makers and chippies that means kitchen carcasses, benchtops and wardrobe panels broken down on site. For a renovator it means a Bunnings-bought sheet becomes shelving or a vanity without the ragged edge a circular saw against a straightedge leaves on melamine. The plunge action also lets you drop into the middle of a panel for a sink cut-out or a floor register, which a normal circular saw does badly and a jigsaw does slowly.
The thing to get right before you buy is where the saw is coming from and what that means for the plug and the warranty. Six of these seven picks are Global Store imports. The two Einhell saws, both Evolution saws and the DeWalt DWS520KT ship from Amazon UK. The corded ones arrive with a UK three-pin plug. UK mains is 230 V and Australian mains is 230-240 V, so the motor is fine, but you need a UK-to-AU adaptor rated for the current, or a plug swap by a licensed electrician. The Milwaukee ships from Amazon US as a bare tool, and Milwaukee Australia's warranty explicitly excludes parallel imports and Amazon purchases, so you are relying on Amazon's returns window and nothing else. Only the Festool TS 75 is sold by an Australian third-party seller with local dispatch. Tracks are the other trap: rail profiles are not universal, and only two of the seven include a rail in the box.
This ranking covers the seven track and plunge saws Australians can actually buy on Amazon AU today, from A$213.83 for the corded Einhell up to A$2,902.50 for the Festool TS 75 kit with rail. Be clear about what is missing. The Makita SP6000J, DSP600 and SP001G, and the DeWalt FlexVolt DCS520, are listed on Amazon AU but were unavailable when we checked, and the Festool TS 55 sells through Festool dealers only. If one of those is the saw you want, go to Total Tools, Sydney Tools or a Festool dealer rather than waiting on Amazon. We have not physically tested any of these saws; the scores come from spec sheets, retailer listings and review patterns. Prices move daily and import stock can vanish overnight, with the Milwaukee already down to a single unit, so confirm on the live listing before you buy.
Compare Top Picks
Can't decide between our top two? See how they stack up head‑to‑head.
Is a track saw really better than a circular saw with a straightedge guide?+
For sheet goods, yes, and for three reasons. First, the rail's rubber splinter strip presses the top fibres down right at the kerf, so melamine and veneered board come out chip-free on the top face, which a circular saw against a clamped straightedge does not manage. Second, a plunge saw's blade starts retracted and drops into the work, so you can make cut-outs in the middle of a panel for a sink or a hob. Third, the saw is captive on the rail, so the cut cannot wander when the offcut sags. The Evolution saws here are circular saws on a track, which gets you the straight cut but not the plunge action or a riving knife. For a benchtop or a set of carcasses, buy a true plunge saw.
Will a UK-plug plunge saw from Amazon's Global Store work in Australia?+
Electrically, yes. The DeWalt DWS520KT, Einhell TE-PS 165 and Evolution R185CCSX are 230 V tools and Australian mains is 230-240 V at 50 Hz, the same as the UK, so the motor runs at its rated speed. The only difference is the plug. The cheap fix is a UK-to-AU adaptor rated for at least 10 A, which is fine for a 1300 W to 1600 W saw. The proper fix is having a licensed electrician replace the UK plug with an Australian one, which is a ten-minute job and keeps the lead compliant if you work on sites. Do not use a travel adaptor from a chemist, since most are rated for phone chargers. The cordless skins from the UK and US need nothing, because 18 V packs are the same worldwide.
Are Festool and Makita guide rails compatible with Einhell or Evolution saws?+
No. Rail profiles fall into families and a saw only fits its own. Festool and Makita share a profile, so those rails interchange, and the Milwaukee 2831-20 is built to ride them too. Bosch and Mafell share a different profile. DeWalt uses its own, and so do Einhell and Evolution, neither of which fits anything else on this page. Practically, if you already own Festool or Makita rails, the Milwaukee or a Makita saw from a local dealer makes the most sense. If you are starting from nothing, price the rail with the saw: only the Festool TS 75 kit and the corded Evolution include one, and a 1400 mm rail alone can cost as much as the cheaper saws here.
What blade should I use for cutting melamine without chipping?+
Use a fine-tooth blade with a triple-chip or flat-top grind, typically 48 to 60 teeth on a 165 mm blade, and keep it sharp. The 48-tooth blades in the DeWalt and corded Einhell boxes and the 56-tooth blade in the cordless Einhell are good enough for single-sided melamine and ply straight away. For double-sided melamine or high-gloss board, a dedicated laminate blade is worth buying on day one, and setting the blade to plunge just 2 to 3 mm below the sheet keeps the underside clean. The 16 and 20 tooth multi-material blades on the Evolution saws are built for steel and rough timber, not laminates, so fit a fine wood blade for cabinet work.
Why is there no Makita or Festool TS 55 on this list?+
Because you cannot buy them on Amazon AU right now. The Makita SP6000J corded, DSP600 twin-18V and SP001G 40V plunge saws are all listed but were unavailable when we checked, and Makita Australia only warrants tools bought from authorised Australian dealers. Festool's TS 55 sells through Festool dealers only and never appears on Amazon AU. This page ranks what is actually buyable today, which is why Einhell, Evolution, DeWalt and Milwaukee dominate. If a Makita or a TS 55 is the saw you want, go to Total Tools, Sydney Tools or a Festool dealer, where you also get an Australian warranty and local rails on the shelf.
Does the manufacturer's warranty apply to a Global Store import in Australia?+
Usually not. Milwaukee Australia's warranty terms explicitly exclude parallel imports and any tool bought on Amazon, so the US-sourced M18 FUEL saw has no Milwaukee cover here. DeWalt, Einhell and Evolution warranties on UK-sourced tools are UK offers, and their Australian arms are not obliged to honour them. What you do get on every import is Amazon's own returns window, which covers a dead-on-arrival tool but not a failure a year in. Australian Consumer Law guarantees still apply to the seller, which for Global Store items is Amazon. Only the Festool TS 75, sold by a third-party Australian seller, has a local warranty path, and even there confirm with the seller before paying.