As an Amazon Associate, top7tools.au earns from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amazon.com.au at the time of purchase will apply.
Rankings re-checked weekly · Last re-checked 16 October 2026
·Prices updated daily·AI-assisted, run by Jaco Olwagen
Class-leading 18V brushless impact driver with 226Nm torque, 4,400 IPM, four DRIVE CONTROL modes, and a compact 113mm head.
Why it's number one: Top on power (226 Nm at 4,400 ipm) and build (113 mm head, four modes, 1.0 kg) with the strongest platform score and a 9.7/10 from Pro Tool Reviews as its one critic score; its Amazon AU listing is newer, with a 4.4-star rating from 17 owners.
The M18FID30 is the current flagship 18V impact driver on Milwaukee's biggest platform. The POWERSTATE brushless motor delivers 226Nm of torque with up to 4,400 impacts per minute, and the four-mode DRIVE CONTROL dial lets you back the power off for self-tapping screws without scrapping the head. At 113mm head-to-chuck it's noticeably shorter than the GEN 3, which matters when you're working between studs or behind cabinetry. Skin pricing is the right call if you already own M18 batteries; the M18 ecosystem now spans 200+ tools. Note: this listing is sold and shipped by Amazon UK through Amazon's global store, so it arrives as a UK-market import rather than local Milwaukee Australia stock; the tool and M18 battery platform are identical, but warranty claims may need to go through the seller rather than Milwaukee Australia.
Power
10.0
Build
9.6
Battery
8.9
Owners
8.4
Owners is the 4.4★ Amazon AU rating from 17 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Power 10.0 (rubric 10): Card: 226 Nm with up to 4,400 impacts per minute, the 220 to 279 Nm band plus the 4,000 ipm bonus; Pro Tool Reviews' 2953 review quotes the same 2,000 in-lbs.
Build 9.6 (rubric 9.5): Card: 113 mm head, four DRIVE CONTROL modes including a self-tapping setting; Pro Tool Reviews lists 2.2 lb (1.0 kg) bare. The card does not describe the LED.
Battery 8.9 (rubric 8.5): Brushless skin on M18, a professional platform with 5.0 Ah and larger packs in Australia (8), plus 0.5 because the card cites a 200-plus tool platform.
The DCF860 is DeWalt's most powerful 1/4in hex impact driver and it takes this slot from the older ATOMIC DCF809, which had drifted to nearly A$300 as a US-spec import. This one is the AU/EU-spec XR skin, so you get local warranty support rather than a seller-by-seller lottery, and it costs about A$100 less. Torque runs 141Nm, 242Nm and 282Nm across the three-speed selector, with 0-3,800 rpm and 4,400 ipm at the top setting - enough to drive coach screws and structural fixings that stall most compact drivers. It is 122mm front to back and 1.09kg bare, so it is shorter than the ATOMIC it replaces while hitting far harder. The 9-LED ring puts out 82 lumens with a flashlight mode that stays lit after the trigger releases. Runs on the same 18V XR packs as the rest of the DeWalt line.
Power
10.0
Build
9.3
Battery
8.5
Owners
8.5
Owners is the 4.6★ Amazon AU rating from 83 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Power 10.0 (rubric 10): Card: 282 Nm at the top setting with 4,400 ipm, the 280 Nm-plus band; Pro Tool Reviews quotes the same 2,500 in-lbs.
Build 9.3 (rubric 9): Card: 122 mm front to back, 1.09 kg bare, three speeds from 141 Nm and a 9-LED ring at 82 lumens with a flashlight mode; the head is past the 115 mm mark and no precision mode is named.
Battery 8.5 (rubric 8): Brushless skin on DeWalt 18V XR, a professional platform with 5.0 Ah and larger packs in Australia (8); the card cites no tool count or runtime figure.
The DCF850 is DeWalt's direct successor to the DCF887 - the impact driver most Aussie sparkies and chippies already own - and the XR brushless platform is the second-biggest pro ecosystem in the country. Three speeds plus a Precision Drive mode keep delicate fasteners - cabinet hinges, Tek screws in thin steel roofing - from being snapped or over-driven, and 205Nm is enough peak torque for everything short of structural lag bolts. The 130mm head is 15mm shorter than the DCF887 it replaces, and sub-A$160 on a skin makes it the most cost-effective entry into pro-tier brushless on the XR platform.
Power
9.3
Build
9.6
Battery
8.5
Owners
8.9
Owners is the 4.7★ Amazon AU rating from 1,110 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Power 9.3 (rubric 9): Card: 205 Nm fastening torque, the 200 to 219 Nm band; Pro Tool Reviews quotes 1,825 in-lbs (206 Nm) and no 4,000 ipm figure is published.
Build 9.6 (rubric 9.5): Three speeds plus Precision Drive; Pro Tool Reviews measures it at 3.97 in (101 mm) long and 2.1 lb (0.95 kg) bare, well inside the 115 mm and 1.1 kg marks. LED type not stated.
Battery 8.5 (rubric 8): Brushless skin on DeWalt 18V XR, a professional platform with 5.0 Ah and larger packs in Australia (8); the card cites a 100-plus tool platform, short of the 200 bonus.
Updated LXT brushless impact driver with 180Nm torque, four-stage power selection plus four assist modes, a repositioned control panel and a 3-LED shadowless ring light.
The DTD173Z is the direct successor to the DTD172 that quietly converted half the Aussie carpentry workforce to LXT, and the refinements are the kind you only notice once you've used the old one. Makita moved the mode and speed buttons to a cleaner front panel you can read at a glance, added a 3-LED ring light that throws shadowless illumination around the bit (no more single side-LED casting a shadow into the fastener), and tightened the grip ergonomics. Under the hood it keeps what made the 172 great: the same 180Nm peak, four-stage power selection, and four assist modes (self-drilling Tek, fine wood, fine bolt, fine timber) that make it the most software-rich impact driver on this list. The 180Nm peak is still the only spec where it trails Milwaukee; in real-world hardwood work, the assist modes more than compensate.
Power
8.9
Build
9.3
Battery
8.5
Owners
9.2
Owners is the 4.8★ Amazon AU rating from 350 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Power 8.9 (rubric 8.5): Card: 180 Nm peak torque, the 180 to 199 Nm band; no impacts-per-minute figure is published.
Build 9.3 (rubric 9): Card: four-stage power selection plus four assist modes including self-drilling Tek, and a 3-LED shadowless ring light; head length and weight are not on the card.
Battery 8.5 (rubric 8): Brushless skin on Makita 18V LXT, a professional platform with 5.0 Ah and larger packs in Australia (8); the card cites no tool count or runtime figure.
Pros
+ Four assist modes for material-specific fastener control
+ 3-LED ring light for shadowless illumination around the bit
+ Repositioned control panel is easier to read on the job
+ LXT platform is the dominant trade ecosystem in Australia
Cons
− 180Nm peak trails the M18FID30 (226Nm) and DCF887 (205Nm)
− Skin only
18V Brushless180Nm Torque4-Stage Power4 Assist ModesLXT PlatformSkin Only
Bosch Professional GDX 18V-285 Brushless Impact Driver/Wrench (Skin)
18V Brushless285Nm Torque2-in-1 Chuck
Premium
Rank #5
Bosch Professional GDX 18V-285 Brushless Impact Driver/Wrench (Skin)
Our Verdict
Bosch's current 2-in-1 impactor - 285Nm of fastening torque and 500Nm of breakaway from one tool that takes both 1/4" hex bits and a 1/2" square socket drive.
The GDX 18V-285 is the current head of Bosch Professional's 2-in-1 impactor line, and it takes over this slot from the GDX 18V-200 C. The combination holder is still the reason to buy a GDX: it accepts both 1/4" hex bits and a 1/2" square socket drive without an adapter, so one tool covers cabinet screws and wheel nuts. What has changed is output. 285Nm of fastening torque and 500Nm of breakaway replace the 200 C's 200Nm, and Bosch has added a two-speed selector, auto driving modes for screwing into metal, and an auto bolt release that halts the tool the instant a nut cracks free rather than spinning it off at full speed. Bosch Professional 18V packs remain cross-compatible with kit going back to 2008, which is still rare in this market, and registration gets you the 3-year Bosch Pro warranty.
Two things to be straight about. On Amazon AU this listing is shipped and sold by Amazon Germany rather than local stock, so expect an international dispatch window and assume a warranty claim runs back through the European seller rather than a Bosch Australia agent. And it is a heavier, blockier tool than a dedicated 1/4" impact driver - if you only ever drive screws, the DCF850N at rank 2 is the lighter buy. The 200 C we previously listed here is now two generations behind (200 C, then 210 C, then this) and had fallen to single-figure stock from a marketplace reseller, which is why we have moved the slot forward.
Power
10.0
Build
7.8
Battery
8.5
Owners
8.5
Owners is the 4.6★ Amazon AU rating from 273 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Power 10.0 (rubric 10): Card: 285 Nm fastening torque and 500 Nm breakaway, the 280 Nm-plus band; no impacts-per-minute figure is published.
Build 7.8 (rubric 7): Card: a two-in-one hex and 1/2 in square holder with a two-speed selector, auto metal modes and auto bolt release, but heavier and blockier than a dedicated driver; length and weight not stated.
Battery 8.5 (rubric 8): Brushless skin on Bosch Professional 18V, a professional platform with 5.0 Ah and larger packs sold in Australia (8); no tool count or runtime figure on the card.
Pros
+ 285Nm fastening and 500Nm breakaway torque from a single tool
+ 2-in-1 holder takes 1/4" hex bits and 1/2" square sockets with no adapter
+ Two-speed selector, auto metal driving modes and auto bolt release
+ Bosch Pro 18V packs cross-compatible back to 2008, 3-year warranty on registration
Cons
− Shipped and sold by Amazon Germany, so international dispatch and a European warranty path
− Heavier and blockier than a dedicated 1/4" impact driver
− Skin only - battery and charger separate
18V Brushless285Nm Torque2-in-1 Chuck500Nm BreakawayBosch Pro 18VSkin Only
Ryobi PSBID01 18V ONE+ HP Brushless 4-Mode Impact Driver (Skin)
18V ONE+Brushless HP4-Mode Selector
Premium
Rank #6
Ryobi PSBID01 18V ONE+ HP Brushless 4-Mode Impact Driver (Skin)
Our Verdict
A brushless HP upgrade on Australia's largest consumer battery platform - a four-mode ONE+ impact driver with a dedicated self-tapping-screw mode that undercuts every flagship brand while sharing 250+ tools worth of batteries.
If you are buying into a battery ecosystem rather than a single tool, the ONE+ platform is the pragmatic pick for most Australian home users, and the HP Brushless line is where it stops feeling like a budget compromise. This PSBID01 pairs a brushless motor with a four-mode drive selector - including a self-tapping-screw mode that eases off once the head seats - a tri-beam LED that rings the chuck, and the same Lithium+ batteries that run 250+ other ONE+ tools, the largest consumer platform in Australia. The optimised impact mechanism delivers up to 3,800 IPM and 1,700 in-lbs of torque, and the brushless motor closes much of the runtime and longevity gap to the M18 / XR / LXT flagships. The original Amazon AU listing for this driver went unavailable in July 2026; we have moved it to the currently stocked local listing, which prices higher than the old import but ships domestically. At A$230 it is now the priciest way into ONE+ on this list, so weigh it against the brushed R18ID1-0 if the four-mode selector is not something you will use.
Power
8.9
Build
8.9
Battery
8.1
Owners
8.5
Owners is the 4.6★ Amazon AU rating from 524 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Power 8.9 (rubric 8.5): Card: 1,700 in-lbs, which is 192 Nm at 0.113 Nm per in-lb, the 180 to 199 Nm band; 3,800 ipm is below the 4,000 bonus.
Build 8.9 (rubric 8.5): Card: four modes including a self-tapping setting and a tri-beam LED ringing the chuck; Pro Tool Reviews gives a 5 in (127 mm) head, the 120 to 135 mm band.
Battery 8.1 (rubric 7.5): Brushless skin on Ryobi ONE+, a DIY platform (7), plus 0.5 because the card cites a 250-plus tool platform.
If the DTD173Z's price is more than you want to spend, the older DTD153Z is the smart Makita compromise. You drop the 4-stage power selection and assist modes, but you keep the brushless motor, 170Nm peak torque, XPT dust/water protection, and full LXT compatibility - for around A$100 less. Single-speed throttle means less control on delicate fasteners, but for general framing, decking, and timber work it's still the most ergonomic impact driver under A$200. Note: Makita has now discontinued the DTD153Z and launched the DTD158Z as its successor, with the battery set further back for better balance. The DTD158Z has only just reached Amazon AU with no owner reviews yet, so the DTD153Z keeps this slot while stock lasts.
Power
8.5
Build
7.4
Battery
8.5
Owners
8.5
Owners is the 4.6★ Amazon AU rating from 142 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Power 8.5 (rubric 8): Card: 170 Nm peak torque, the 160 to 179 Nm band; no impacts-per-minute figure is published.
Build 7.4 (rubric 6.5): Card: single-speed with no power mode selection, the single-speed band, lifted by a compact 137 mm body, 0.9 kg bare and XPT sealing.
Battery 8.5 (rubric 8): Brushless skin on Makita 18V LXT, a professional platform with 5.0 Ah and larger packs in Australia (8); the card cites no tool count or runtime figure.
Pros
+ Brushless LXT impact driver under A$200
+ XPT dust and moisture protection
+ Lightweight at 0.9kg skin weight
+ One-touch bit installation
Cons
− Single-speed - no power mode selection
− 170Nm trails the newer DTD172/DTD173
18V Brushless170Nm TorqueXPT ProtectionLXT Platform0.9kgSkin Only
We score impact drivers across four category-specific dimensions: Power & Torque (peak Nm, IPM, drive modes), Battery & Runtime (ecosystem size, runtime under load, included Ah if a kit), Build & Ergonomics (weight, head length, balance, LED quality), and Value (skin/kit completeness vs price tier). Specs come from manufacturer data, cross-checked against Pro Tool Reviews, Tools In Action, and Australian retailer listings (Sydney Tools, Total Tools, Tool Kit Depot). We only rank tools readily available on Amazon Australia with reasonable shipping.
Scored on Power and torque 45%, Build and ergonomics 30%, Battery and runtime 25%, plus owner ratings and critic reviews
Brushless is now the default above A$150 and worth the upgrade for anyone using the driver more than monthly. You get 30-50% longer runtime per charge, the motor lasts 2-3x longer before service, and performance under load is noticeably better. A brushed impact is fine for occasional DIY but stretches under sustained framing or decking work.
Torque & IPM
Headline torque (170-226Nm) tells you peak grunt for breaking loose stubborn fasteners. IPM - impacts per minute (3,800-4,400 typical) - tells you how fast it drives screws home. For lag bolts and structural fasteners, prioritise torque. For batch decking screws or Tek screws into thin steel, prioritise IPM and look for a dedicated self-drilling mode like DeWalt's Precision Drive or Makita's Assist 4.
Battery Platform & Ecosystem
The platform matters more than the driver itself. Milwaukee M18 (200+ tools), DeWalt 18V XR (100+ tools), Makita LXT (the dominant Australian trade platform), and Bosch Professional 18V all have deep ecosystems - switching is expensive. Ryobi ONE+ has by far the largest consumer ecosystem (250+ tools). Pick the platform you'll grow with, not just the cheapest skin.
Skin vs Kit
Almost every impact driver on Amazon AU is sold as a skin (tool only). That's cheaper if you already own batteries on the same platform - typically 30-50% less than a kit with duplicate batteries. If it's your first tool on a platform, factor in another A$159-A$229 for a single 5.0Ah battery and charger before comparing against a kit price.
1/4" Hex vs 13mm Chuck
Impact drivers use a 1/4" quick-release hex chuck for impact-rated screwdriver bits - that's different from a drill's 13mm keyless chuck. If you want a tool that takes 1/2" socket drive for automotive nuts and bolts too, look for an impact wrench or a hybrid like the Bosch GDX 18V-200, which has both a 1/4" hex and a 1/2" square in the same chuck.
Once you've owned an impact driver for a week, you stop reaching for the drill for anything involving screws. Impact drivers handle batch deck screws, lag bolts, structural batten screws, and stubborn rusted-in fasteners with a fraction of the wrist torque a drill demands - which is the whole reason every Australian tradie's belt carries both.
The Aussie Amazon listings have caught up with the rest of the world. The M18 FUEL GEN 4, Makita's 4-stage DTD172/DTD173, DeWalt's DCF887, and Bosch's 200Nm GDX are all here, often cheaper than the Sydney Tools or Total Tools storefronts on a quiet week. The platform decision matters more than the driver itself: a skin is cheap if you already own the batteries, a kit is your gateway if you don't.
We've ranked the seven impact drivers Australian buyers should actually consider on Amazon AU in 2026, split across Premium (built for daily tradie use, 180-226Nm), Best Value (the brushless sweet spot at A$150-A$300), and Budget (the entry skins under A$150). Specs and prices are triangulated against manufacturer data, professional reviews, and current AU retailer listings - always confirm against the live Amazon AU listing before purchase.
Compare Top Picks
Can't decide between our top two? See how they stack up head‑to‑head.
What's the difference between an impact driver and a drill?+
A drill applies rotational torque continuously and uses a 13mm keyless chuck. An impact driver delivers rotational torque in rapid pulses (impacts), uses a 1/4" hex chuck, and is purpose-built for driving screws and bolts. You want both: the drill for drilling holes and precision driving, the impact for batch screws, lag bolts, and stuck fasteners.
How much torque do I really need?+
170-180Nm is plenty for almost all carpentry, decking, and general construction. 200-226Nm gives you headroom for lag bolts and structural fasteners. Anything over 226Nm is overkill outside specialist applications - if you're driving 12mm+ lag bolts daily, you probably want a dedicated impact wrench, not a driver.
Will an impact driver split timber or strip screws?+
Less than a drill, actually. Modern impact drivers with multi-speed power selection (Makita's 4-stage, DeWalt's 3-speed plus Precision Drive, Milwaukee's 4-mode DRIVE CONTROL) let you dial the power down for delicate fasteners. Cheap single-speed budget impacts are more likely to over-drive screws than premium multi-mode tools.
Do I need impact-rated bits?+
Yes. Standard screwdriver bits will shatter or twist under impact driver torque. Use bits explicitly labelled 'impact rated' or 'torsion' - Makita Impact Gold, DeWalt FlexTorq, and Milwaukee Shockwave are the three trusted ranges, all sold in AU hardware stores and on Amazon AU.
Is the Milwaukee Surge worth the extra money?+
Only for sound-sensitive work. The Surge replaces the traditional ball-and-anvil impact mechanism with a hydraulic oil pulse - it's roughly 50% quieter and has less hand vibration, which matters in apartments, hospitals, occupied retail fit-outs, or all-day finish work. For framing, decking, or any outdoor work, save the money and get the standard M18FID30.
Skin or kit for my first impact driver?+
Kit, unless you already own batteries on the same platform. A single 5.0Ah battery and charger together cost more than the skin itself - typically A$200+. Kits bundle 1-2 batteries and a charger at a significant discount over piecing them together separately.